The Struggle Continues…

2014…my 48th year on this amazing marble (planet earth).

My 47th year was definitely a struggle that I even had a few close calls (not phone). But really only a few people knew about them…which is probably for the better.

I remain unemployed (over 10 months and counting), something I never imagined struggling with, ever. I started carrying newspapers at age 8. And from that tender age, I worked and worked. I also struggled with a new compulsive behavior, gambling. Not a good compulsion to have when u are unemployed. However, I am grateful to report, I have stayed away from the slot machines for 158 days  and counting.

I also suffered through another year of mental health issues. I don’t want to get into the details of them, but it was rough. Again, only a few people knew I was trying to get better. I am getting better but still have a long way to go. 

I find it fascinating that “bad things” drive the news cycle but when it comes to one one one relations, the other doesn’t want to hear the “bad stuff”. They think and/or say, be positive. Believe me, my so called friend, be positive about what? I know, I know, I can see and walk as the majority of the folks out there can do as well. Honestly, I really don’t know how “those” people do it. I surely couldn’t or at least, I don’t think I could.

Let’s look at some of the crap that happened recently (in the past year). First off, the government has no problem spending billions on bombs (we don’t need) but can’t find the money to continue unemployment benefits. In Oklahoma alone, it is sitting on a billion dollar unemployment nest egg, and its unfine leaders refuse to help the less unfortunate (like me at this moment). 

Second, Iraq and Afghanistan, the government spends (and continue to do so) billions of dollars and sacrifices 1000’s of lives, for what? The bad guys are back in control again like they have been for centuries. Let’s stay the “f” out of radical Islam nations. Third, our government (well, not really, controlled by the super rich) continues to spend more than it brings in. States have made it constitutional that they require balanced budgets, why can’t the federal government follow suit. Oh yea, that is how the states balance their budgets, with federal dollars.  

4th, please tell me why I have to walk into Wally and see four rednecks with long beards, wearing camouflage clothing? Oh, I know, because the average American is completely stupid.

I really could go and on and on. Oh, yea, I forgot about one of the biggest travesties in our recent history (last 100 years). The remembrance of the 50th anniversary of the JFK conspiracy murder for hire. I know JFK was a adulterer but there are worse things to be. However, JFK believed in MUTUAL TOLERANCE. Think about that…not mutual respect, but just tolerating your fellow man or woman without shooting them in theaters, restaurants, neighborhoods, offices and schools. We want others to tolerate us, but do we return the same tolerance? Ask yourself…

I really am looking forward to a new year of living on this beautiful planet that God made for us to take care of until his son, Jesus returns to take his believers home (that’s heaven). I will do my part to make this world better, what about u?

 

 

About Clyde'sDad

I am licensed clinical social worker with a master degree in social work from the University of Illinois-Champaign/Urbana. BTW, my name is Darron and you can email me at darronv@hotmail.com Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Struggle Continues…

  1. Big Brother says:

    Here’s to a great 2014, D!

Leave a Reply

